Mit freundlichen Gruessen aus Berlin
Saturday, May 28, 2011
Kamminer Str.
I finally have a place I can sleep at night where I'm not worried about all my shit being stolen or a bed that's big enough for my whole body. Yup, I'm finally moved in with my host Mutti; I haven't really told her I call her mom but that's what I'll call her. I told you all about Frau Hoffman earlier and how she lives in Charlottenburg, a borough of Berlin. Charlottenburg is one of the nice neighborhoods of Berlin and you can tell that just by walking down the street. There isn't the normal graffiti everywhere that you'd normally see in Kreuzberg or Friedrichshain. I was also told to address her as Ursala and not Frau Hoffman. If you know anything about German you know there are two ways to address people, formally and informally. It is not typical for someone of my age to be using first names with a woman of her age, but since she offered it's ok. She complimented me on how my German is so I'm starting to think I'm making some improvements. Ursala is very good at English but she still likes to speak to me in English sometimes, because like every German she wants to practice all the time. But I told her mostly German unless we really can't understand each other, then it's safe to use. We went out tonight for some traditional German food, per my request and she took me to a bar over by Schloss Charlottenburg. Oh yeah I forgot to mention she lives literally right around the corner from a famous German castle. Most Germans don't like to eat German food she said and the more I thought about it the more that makes sense because we don't eat Hamburgers and French Fries every time we eat right? I also spoke with her about what I should do for living for the two months that I will be doing my internship and she said if I can't find anything that I was more than welcome to stay with her. I don't hate it. This room is huge and it would be far cheaper for rent and less of a headache for me than looking for my own place. We'll see I guess. Heading to bed early tonight because I still haven't quite fully recovered from the techno/rave/club we went to last night and mentally exhausted from switching languages all day. Hoping it'll get easier.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment